Schedule: Fall 2023

Sep 26 Tue
  • Course intro
  • CCRMA accounts
  • How long is 100msec?
  • In-class webchuck lab
  • Reading assignment
Oct 3 Tue
  • Build-your-own hydrophone (for Oct 12)
  • Enroll in class and homework factory (see CC during class)
  • Reading assignment
Oct 5 Thu
  • Hydrophone testing (with recording devices)
  • Sign up for Oct 12 whale recording trip
  • Sonification demos, HW1 ideas
  • In-class webchuck lab
Oct 12 WHALE trip Thu
  • meet bus at FloMo (9:30am) -- bring $10 (if poss.)
  • meet dockside (1pm)
  • boat leaves (1:30pm)
  • return to campus (ca. 7pm)
Oct 19 Thu
  • Special lecture, Luna
  • Reading assignment
Oct 24 Tue
  • build an air mic
Oct 26 Thu
  • Special lecture, Celeste
Oct 31 Tue
  • Delay and digital filters
  • Strings, tubes and excitations
  • Webchuck examples, comb filter, reverb code demos
  • Reading assignment
Nov 2 Thu
  • Special lecture, Drew Allen (Microsoft Research) in-person
  • Convolution and spatialization
Nov 7 Tue
  • no class
Nov 9 Thu
  • Non-linear systems, emergent behavior (music, musical instruments and beyond)
  • Recursion in non-linear dynamical systems (everything is a clarinet)
  • I am Sitting in a Room (Alvin Lucier), linear or non-linear?
  • Tuning Meditation (Pauline Oliveros)
  • Reading assignment
Nov 14 Tue
  • Special lecture, Hongchan Choi (Google, CCRMA) Non-linear effects, dynamics range processing and waveshaping [in person]
  • gestural
DUE HW #4
Nov 16 Thu
  • Final project individual meetings
  • Bring your ideas!
  • We'll be holding 10 min. meetings througout the day
Nov 21 Tue
  • no class
Nov 23 Thu
  • no class
Nov 28 Tue
  • Presentations of current work from 3 MA/MST students (in Stage)
  • Breakout consultation for any homework, final projects
Nov 30 Thu
  • Project Presentations I
Dec 5 Tue
  • Project Presentations II
Dec 7 Thu
  • Project Presentations III
Dec 12 3:30-6:30pm Tue
  • Project Presentations IV & V