Concert: Nicola Baroni presents "Zadig: Voltaire meets Kaftka", cello and Hypercello

Fri, 05/02/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:00pm
Event Type: 
 CCRMA presents Nicola Baroni performing a concert of works on Cello and Hypercello entitled "ZADIG: VOLTAIRE MEETS KAFKA"

Nicola joins us as part of his 2014 tour in the US (New York, Florida, California) with the Italian composer Massimiliano Messieri, in part financed by Italian institutions, and the MASK-association.

Nicola Baroni is a PhD researcher at the University of Edinburgh involved in contemporary music, improvisation and software composition, as well as a cello soloist, teaching Cello in Italy at the Bozen Conservatory.

His research focuses on Hyper-cello performance and composition by means of physical computing, combining real time spectral audio analysis and wireless inertial motion capture. The research is producing new compositions, and partially involves new interpretations of historical graphic scores by Cage, Cardew, Bussotti, Stockhausen.

  • Massimiliano Messieri, five Capriccios from the Voltaire's novel Zadig, Cello and Hypercello, 2000-2012 (La jealousie, La femme battue, L'esclavage, Le boucher, L'Ermite)
  • Cristian Gentilini, Tanpura, 2011, Hypercello version by Nicola Baroni, (2013)
  • Vangelis Lympouridis and Nicola Baroni, Untitled#n, for Hypercello and Whole Body Interaction, 2014
  • Martin Parker, Grunt Count, Cello and Computer, 2011
  • Nicola Baroni, K_Trilogy, short novels for the Hypercello, 2014 1) Vor dem Gesetz, 2) The wish to be a Red Indian, 3) Odradek
  • John Cage, 1' 18" for a String Player, 1956 (realization for Hypercello and Kbow, 2013)    


The MASK system develops a performance-based new approach to software composition, and was recently performed in 2013 at the MASKFEST in Italy, the FORFEST in the Czech Republic, in concerts at the Innspace and St. Cecilia's Hall in Edinburgh and the Firespace in New York. Following lectures were held at the Gothemburg University of Arts in Sweden and at the Conservatory of Parma in Italy ("Il suono aperto").

Open to the Public
Syndicate content